North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance

Skip To Main Content

North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance logo

Celebrating Our 20th Anniversary

In the late 1990’s, EPCOR, TransAlta, Trout Unlimited, Agriculture and Agrifood Canada and the City of Edmonton were working on separate initiatives related to the health of the North Saskatchewan River. In 1997 they amalgamated to form the North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance. In 2000 NSWA became a registered non-profit society.

In 2005, the NSWA became the designated Watershed Planning and Advisory Council (WPAC) for the North Saskatchewan River (NSR), two years after the Alberta Water for Life Strategy was adopted by the province.

Looking back on 20 years of progress, it’s encouraging to see how far we’ve come. Starting with a State of the Watershed Report we moved right into an Integrated Watershed Management Plan, which is now in the implementation stage, the action part of our work.

NSWA has provided a forum for sharing knowledge and collaborating on issues affecting the North Saskatchewan River watershed in Alberta for 20 years.


As of the middle of March, due to the COVID-19 crisis, all NSWA events are on hold until further notice.


Did you know?

  • Until 2005, the North Saskatchewan River watershed in Alberta included the Battle River watershed.
  • In the beginning, these rural municipalities supported the formation of NSWA:
    M.D.s of Clearwater, Brazeau and Bonnyville; Counties of Smoky Lake, Two Hills, St. Paul, Lac Ste Anne, Vermilion River, Beaver, Minburn, Thorhild, Strathcona, Sturgeon, Parkland, Leduc, Lamont, Wetaskiwin, Wainwright, Paintearth, Flagstaff, Lacombe and Camrose.
  • In the beginning, these urban municipalities supported the formation of NSWA:
    Cities of Edmonton, St. Albert, Fort Saskatchewan, Leduc, Camrose; Towns of Rocky Mountain House, Drayton Valley, Devon, Vegreville, Elk Point, Kitscoty,

Through the years in photos

2001 NSWA Board visit to Iron Creek Watershed

2001 NSWA Manager, Adele Mandryk & student assistant Stacy at Emerald Awards

2004 NSWA Staff
2004 NSWA Staff: E.D. Sharon Willianen, Giselle Beaudry, Billie Milholland, Janine Bihun

2004 NSWA Board River Tour Locke Girvan (Strathcona County), Caroline Burgess (NSWA), Beth Michner (EPCOR).

2005 AGM Rocky Mountain House

2005 Board Back: Bill Fox, Andrew Shoepf, Doug Thrussell, Candace Vanin, Jim Bague Middle: Ernie Ewaschuk, Celeste Nicholson, Frank Vagi, Douwe Vanderwel, Front: Kim Nielson, Beth Michner, ? , Tracy Scott

2005 Watershed Conference
Leah Kongsrude, Frank Vagi, Douwe Vanderwel

2005 Emerald Award
Candace Vanin, Chris Ward, Sharon Willianen, Tracy Scott

2006 IWMP Engagement


2006 former Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, Helen Hunley officiating acceptance of North Sask River Study at Rocky Mountain House

2009 NSWA Staff moves to Eastgate. Jayme Nelson, Billie Milholland, Graham Watt, ED David Trew

2009 NSWA Board & IWMP Steering Committee

2013 Mayatan Lake Watershed Workshop

2016 Steve Craik at Queen Elizabeth high School introducing science students to Living in the SHED

2017 Watershed Stewardship Group Outreach – Mayatan Lake Student Event

2018 Headwaters Canoe Trip

2019 NSWA Board