North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance

Skip To Main Content

North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance logo

North Saskatchewan Regional Plan

North Saskatchewan Regional Plan 

The Alberta Land Use Framework (2008) provides a basis for regional plans that guide natural resource development, support economic growth and protect the environment.  The province is comprised of seven regional planning areas including the North Saskatchewan planning area.  This area is defined by provincial and municipal boundaries but includes the majority of the North Saskatchewan River watershed.  

The North Saskatchewan Regional Plan was initiated in 2014 including the development of Terms of Reference and a Profile of the North Saskatchewan Region.   A Regional Advisory Council was also formed to provide advice to the Alberta Government on the Plan and NSWA Board members were part of the 24 member Council.