North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance

Skip To Main Content

North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance logo


Positioned within Alberta’s Parkland region, the Vermilion subwatershed includes several rural municipalities and small towns. These include Counties of Two Hills, St. Paul, Minburn and Vermilion River, as well as the towns of Mundare, Two Hills, Vermilion, and Vegreville, the villages of Dewberry, Innisfree, Mannville and the hamlets of Lavoy, Ranfurly and Minburn. Also within its boundaries are the Minburn Provincial Grazing Reserve and Vermilion Provincial Park where people enjoy a variety of recreational activities such as hiking, camping, fishing, canoeing, bird watching, and cross-country skiing. Agriculture is the main industry within the Vermilion subwatershed.

When the North Saskatchewan State of the Watershed was completed in 2005, it was noted that “few studies have been done on the health of the Vermilion sub watershed; however, existing studies suggest the Vermilion is not as healthy as it could be.”

for more information

For more details about the Vermilion subwatershed, check out the Vermilion chapter in the North Saskatchewan River State of the Watershed Report.

Since then, significant work has been done in the Vermilion River subwatershed with the guidance from a municipality-led group, THE VERMILION RIVER WATERSHED ALLIANCE (VRWA).They completed an Integrated Watershed Management in 2012 and have been doing on the ground wetland and riparian restoration since 2015. 

Vermilion Subwatershed Photos